Best Domain RegistrarsBEST DOMAIN REGISTRARS

.ie domains in Ireland

Ireland uses .ie, which requires a local presence to register. Below: who operates each namespace, what its rules actually constrain, the accredited local registrars, and how global registrars compare on price where we hold a sourced figure.

Last updated 2026-07-16Prices checked monthly1 of 9 scored reviews with published testing notes11 registrars with primary-source pricingTransparent methodology
Short answer

Gandi and OVHcloud are the registrars this site tracks that meet all three local conditions in Ireland: a storefront in an official language, billing in EUR, and .ie for sale. Of the 11 local storefronts read on 2026-09-29, MyHost prints the lowest standing .ie price: €24.59 incl. VAT, computed from €19.99 ex. VAT; €5.99 first year, then SmartHost at €24.59 incl. VAT, computed from €19.99 ex. VAT; €2.75 first year. .IE accredits 116 registrars to sell .ie; none of them is tested or scored here. Global registrars that sell .ie in US dollars are the global option for a buyer in Ireland, not a recommendation in it.

Registrars accredited by IE Domain Registry CLG t/a .IE

These 116 companies are accredited by the Ireland registry to sell .ie. Every figure below is a fact the registry publishes, read from its accredited-registrar list on 2026-09-29.

IE Domain Registry CLG t/a .IE publishes 116 registrars under contract for .ie. Of those, it lists 0 as offering DNSSEC.

We do not reproduce all 116 names here. Any order we printed them in would imply a ranking, and we have tested none of them. The registry's own list is the authority: IE Domain Registry CLG t/a .IE registrar list, read 2026-09-29.

We have not tested any of these registrars, so nothing here carries a price, a score or a ranking. Comparing them on price and service is work we have not done, and saying which is better would be invention.

Which registrars have a Irish / English site, bill in EUR and sell .ie?

Three conditions decide whether a registrar can be recommended in Ireland rather than merely to the world from it: an interface in an official language, billing in the local currency, and selling the local namespace. All three must hold. 2 of the 17 registrars below meet all three.

RegistrarIrish / English interfaceBills in EURSells .ieRecommendable here
Gandinot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Bills in EUR. Page in French. ".com - 13,20 €" with a tax control offering "Excluding VAT" and "20.0% VAT".

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Sells .ie, and we hold a sourced price for it.

source read 2026-09-28

Yes
OVHcloudnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Yes

Bills in EUR. Page in French. ".com 7,99 € HT", renewal "13,49 € HT"; HT (hors taxes) appears throughout the pricing section.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Sells .ie, and we hold a sourced price for it.

source read 2026-09-28

Yes
Cloudflare Registrar
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-20

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-20

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
Porkbun
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-20

No

Bills in USD only. "All prices are in USD" is a positive statement that no other billing currency is offered, so this is a recorded 'no' on every non-USD currency rather than an absence.

source read 2026-09-20

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails 2 conditions
Dynadot
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-20

Not yet assessed

Offers EUR in a currency selector, but whether the card is charged in EUR or in USD after a conversion is not established. Nine currencies in the selector, which is more than any other registrar tracked here. Whether the card is charged in the selected currency or in USD after a conversion is NOT established: https://www.dynadot.com/community/help/question/change-currency was read on the same date and says nothing about how charges are made or about an exchange rate. Until that is established these do not pass the currency condition, because the condition exists to protect a buyer from a conversion fee and a display-only currency does not.

source read 2026-09-20

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
NameSilo
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
Hover
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Bills in USD only. "All pricing is per year and in USD." is a positive statement that no other billing currency is offered, as Porkbun's is; recorded as a 'no' on every non-USD currency.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails 2 conditions
Squarespace Domains
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
AWS Route 53not tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
Com Laudenot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
Hostingernot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Bills in EUR. 10,99 € /an 0,01 € /1re année; Les prix n'incluent pas la TVA

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
IONOSnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Bills in EUR. Page in German. Price printed "1,30 € 0,08€ /Monat für 12 Monate" for .de, with "Preise inkl. MwSt." beside it.

source read 2026-09-20

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
MarkMonitornot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
Name.comnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

Offers EUR in a currency selector, but whether the card is charged in EUR or in USD after a conversion is not established. Thirteen currencies in the selector (AU$, R$, CA$, ¥, €, £, ₹, MX$, ₱, ﷼, ฿, ₺, USD $). Whether the card is charged in the selected currency is not established by the page, so none passes the currency condition.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
Shopify Domainsnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
Wix Domainsnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition
WordPress.comnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .ie.

Nofails one condition

A dash is ignorance, not a failing grade: it means we have not established that condition either way. Several registrars render their language and currency switchers in JavaScript, which the read behind this table cannot see, so we record nothing rather than a false “no”. A currency that appears only in a display selector does not count as billing in that currency, because a converted price charged in dollars is exactly the case this condition exists to catch.

Where to buy a .ie: .IE-accredited registrars, read from their own storefronts

The registry's full list of .ie accredited registrars (115 names, plus GoDaddy from its partner page) was read on 2026-09-29, and 11 storefronts were opened: nine Irish retail brands plus the OVHcloud and Gandi pages. Blacknight's pages were not found, Hosting Ireland returned 502, and Irish Domains and GoDaddy returned 403. Maxer displayed US dollars and Gandi priced for France. Five stores print a regular .ie price in euros excluding 23% VAT, each with a cut first year.

Ordered by the standing .ie price each registrar's own page printed on 2026-09-29: the renewal where the page states one, else the regular price, VAT included (added at 23% where the page states prices excluding it). Price only: this site has not tested their support, uptime or transfers, and none of them carries a score.
#Registrar.ie standing price, incl. VATFirst yearRenewalsource
1MyHostEnglish storefront, bills in EUR€24.59computed: €19.99 ex. VAT + 23%€5.99 promotion, ex. VATnot stated on its pagesource
2SmartHostEnglish storefront, bills in EUR€24.59computed: €19.99 ex. VAT + 23%€2.75 promotion, ex. VAT€19.99 ex. VAT, statedsource
3OVHcloudEnglish storefront, bills in EUR€28.15computed: €22.89 ex. VAT + 23%€14.99 promotion, ex. VAT€22.89 ex. VAT, statedsource
4Register365English storefront, bills in EUR€56.57computed: €45.99 ex. VAT + 23%€2.99 promotion, ex. VATnot stated on its pagesource
5LetsHost.ieEnglish storefront, bills in EUR€57.80computed: €46.99 ex. VAT + 23%€3.49 promotion, ex. VATnot stated on its pagesource

Ordered by the standing .ie price each registrar's own page printed on 2026-09-29: the renewal where the page states one, else the regular price, VAT included (added at 23% where the page states prices excluding it). Price only: this site has not tested their support, uptime or transfers, and none of them carries a score.

Read, not ranked

A local-language storefront, but no .ie price with its VAT treatment on the page read.

  • Maxer HostThe table shows US dollars, and the only euro figure (€18.49 + VAT per year) is labelled a promotion with no regular euro price beside it.
  • GandiThe page read is priced for France, not Ireland, so the Irish VAT treatment is not stated.

Not read on 2026-09-29: Blacknight (Both addresses tried (/domain-names/ie-domain-names/ and /domain-names/) returned "Page not found" on 2026-09-29. Nothing priced was read.); Hosting Ireland (HTTP 502 on both addresses tried on 2026-09-29. Nothing read.); Irish Domains (HTTP 403 (a server test page, then "403 Forbidden") on 2026-09-29. Nothing read.); GoDaddy (HTTP 403 "Access Denied" on 2026-09-29. Nothing read.). Unread is a fact about our read, not a finding about the registrar.

Best options in Ireland

RegistrarScoreWhy it qualifies here
not tested by usOperates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland. Bills in EUR. Page in French. ".com - 13,20 €" with a tax control offering "Excluding VAT" and "20.0% VAT". Sells .ie, and we hold a sourced price for it.
not tested by usOperates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of Ireland. Bills in EUR. Page in French. ".com 7,99 € HT", renewal "13,49 € HT"; HT (hors taxes) appears throughout the pricing section. Sells .ie, and we hold a sourced price for it.

Ordered by our overall score where a registrar carries one. A registrar we have not tested can meet all three local conditions and is listed for it, without a score and never above a scored one.

Global option for buying a .com from Ireland

RegistrarDoes not meetWhy it is still worth naming
does not bill in EUR; does not sell .ieVerified .com renewal of $11.08. Not the cheapest .com we verify: Spaceship renews at $10.18, 9% less. Porkbun is the pick here for catalogue breadth, not for price. WHOIS privacy: free, included by default.

Buying a gTLD through an English-language registrar that bills in dollars is a real and common choice, so it is named with the trade stated rather than dropped. It is not a recommendation in Ireland: the conditions it misses are in the column above.

Business use, globally
Namecheap

Support channels: 24/7 live chat, ticket support, knowledge base.

Developers, globally
Cloudflare Registrar

Industry-leading anycast DNS with deep developer tooling. Public API documented.

These two are the site’s global picks and are the same on every country page, which is why they are labelled globally and sit outside the table above. Nothing about a registrar’s API or its support channels changes at a border; what does change is language, billing currency and whether it can sell the local namespace, and that is what the eligibility table measures.

Local registry and rules

Policy authority: Registered through a .IE-accredited registrar; a real connection to Ireland (residency, citizenship, or a registered Irish business) must be demonstrated.
Local presence: Supported (accented characters)
DNSSEC: Signed at the root
IDN: The .IE registry requires proof of a connection to Ireland at registration.
English-language support standard.

ccTLD breakdown

.ie

Last checked 2026-07-16

Purpose: Ireland's primary registrable domain (.ie).

Eligibility: Supported (accented characters)

Tracked registrars that sell .ie
Verified pricing (USD)
RegistrarFirst yearRenewalTransferChecked
$53.99$54.49$53.992026-09-28
$24.64$55.98$24.642026-09-28

Pricing fetched from each registrar's own pricing page on the date shown. Local registrars may bill in EUR and add VAT/GST/sales tax on top.

English-language support standard.

Namespace map

What you can register under .ie

The Public Suffix List records 1 registrable namespace under .ie.

Registrable namespaces under .ie from the Public Suffix List, with which of the registrars this site tracks sell each one and the cheapest renewal price we have verified.
Namespace
.gov.ie

Operator: IE Domain Registry CLG · .ie signed in the root zone (2026-09-28)

Namespace existence: publicsuffix.org/list/public_suffix_list.dat, 2026-08-19.

.com pricing in USD

Verified and sample pricing per registrar for this TLD, with first-year, renewal, ten-year cost and the date each figure was checked
RegistrarFirst-yearRenewal10-year costWHOIS privacyLast checked
(verified price)
Spaceship logoSpaceship
$9.08$10.18$100.70Free2026-09-02
(verified price)
Dynadot logoDynadot
$10.88$10.88$108.80Free2026-09-28
(verified price)
Porkbun logoPorkbun
$11.08$11.08$110.80Free2026-09-28
(verified price)
OVHcloud logoOVHcloud
$9.20$14.69$141.41Available; contact data red…2026-09-28
(verified price)
Amazon Route 53
$16.00$16.00$160.00Free, with exceptions2026-09-29
(verified price)
NameSilo
$17.29$17.29$172.90Free2026-09-28
(verified price)
Namecheap logoNamecheap
$11.28$18.48$177.60Free, with exceptions2026-08-19
(verified price)
Hover logoHover
$18.99$18.99$189.90Free, with exceptions2026-09-28
(verified price)
Name.com
$12.99$19.99$192.90Available (Whois Privacy) o…2026-09-28
(verified price)
IONOS logoIONOS
$1.00$20.00$181.00Available; contact data red…2026-09-29
(verified price)
Gandi logoGandi
$11.00$38.38$356.42Free, with exceptions2026-09-28

Compared across the 11 registrars whose .com price we have read ourselves.

Most global registrars price domains in USD; local registrars often invoice in EUR.

Can a registrar we track handle Ireland?

.ie is sold by 2 of the registrars whose prices we verify, renewing from $54.49: more than the cheapest verified .com at $10.18.

At $54.49 a year, .ie is 267th of 295 by price among the extensions we verify: $44.31 more than the cheapest verified .com. The local extension is a premium here, not a saving.

Ireland ccTLDs and whether a registrar we verify sells each one
ccTLDSellers we verifyCheapest verified renewalvs cheapest .com
.ie2$54.49+$44.31

Renewals are all-in and per year, at the cheapest registrar we verify for that extension, checked 2026-09-29. The .com reference is the cheapest verified .com renewal ($10.18). "Listed" counts registrars our country notes record as selling the extension without a price we have read ourselves.

What this page does not tell you: how the registrars based in Ireland compare. We list 116 of them by name only, no prices, no scores, no hands-on testing, so any claim here that a local registrar is cheaper, better supported or easier to pay would be invention. Where local billing in Euro (EUR), local-language support, or a registry rule requires a local registrar, that is a reason to use one, and comparing them is work we have not done. Ireland also applies a local-presence or nexus requirement to at least one of its ccTLDs: see the registry rules above before assuming eligibility.

FAQ

What is the best domain registrar in Ireland?
Gandi and OVHcloud are the registrars this site tracks that meet all three local conditions in Ireland: a storefront in an official language, billing in EUR, and .ie for sale. Of the 11 local storefronts read on 2026-09-29, MyHost prints the lowest standing .ie price: €24.59 incl. VAT, computed from €19.99 ex. VAT; €5.99 first year, then SmartHost at €24.59 incl. VAT, computed from €19.99 ex. VAT; €2.75 first year. .IE accredits 116 registrars to sell .ie; none of them is tested or scored here. Global registrars that sell .ie in US dollars are the global option for a buyer in Ireland, not a recommendation in it.
Do I need a local presence to register a .ie domain?
Supported (accented characters)
Which global registrars sell .ie?
Gandi, OVHcloud. English-language support standard.
Which currency are domains billed in for users in Ireland?
Most global registrars bill in USD regardless of buyer location. Local registrars typically invoice in Euro (EUR). Local Registered through a .IE-accredited registrar; a real connection to Ireland (residency, citizenship, or a registered Irish business) must be demonstrated. registrars bill in EUR. A .com bought at Porkbun, Cloudflare, or Namecheap is billed in USD.
What payment methods work in Ireland?
Local Registered through a .IE-accredited registrar; a real connection to Ireland (residency, citizenship, or a registered Irish business) must be demonstrated. registrars bill in EUR. A .com bought at Porkbun, Cloudflare, or Namecheap is billed in USD.

Sources and changelog