Best Domain RegistrarsBEST DOMAIN REGISTRARS

.uk domains in United Kingdom

United Kingdom uses .uk, .co.uk, open to registrants worldwide. Below: who operates each namespace, what its rules actually constrain, the accredited local registrars, and how global registrars compare on price where we hold a sourced figure.

Last updated 2026-09-29Prices checked monthly1 of 9 scored reviews with published testing notes11 registrars with primary-source pricingTransparent methodology
Short answer

OVHcloud is the one registrar this site tracks that meets all three local conditions in the United Kingdom: a storefront in an official language, billing in GBP, and .co.uk for sale. Of the 12 local storefronts read on 2026-09-29, Krystal prints the lowest standing .co.uk price: £9.59 incl. VAT, computed from £7.99 ex. VAT, then OVHcloud at £10.79 incl. VAT, computed from £8.99 ex. VAT; £4.50 first year. Nominet accredits 2,563 registrars to sell .co.uk; none of them is tested or scored here. Global registrars that sell .co.uk in US dollars are the global option for a buyer in the United Kingdom, not a recommendation in it.

Registrars accredited by Nominet UK

These 2563 companies are accredited by the United Kingdom registry to sell .uk, .co.uk, .org.uk and 1 more. Every figure below is a fact the registry publishes, read from its accredited-registrar list on 2026-09-29.

Nominet UK publishes 2563 registrars under contract for .uk, .co.uk, .org.uk, .me.uk. Of those, it lists 0 as offering DNSSEC.

We do not reproduce all 2563 names here. Any order we printed them in would imply a ranking, and we have tested none of them. The registry's own list is the authority: Nominet UK registrar list, read 2026-09-29.

We have not tested any of these registrars, so nothing here carries a price, a score or a ranking. Comparing them on price and service is work we have not done, and saying which is better would be invention.

Which registrars have a English site, bill in GBP and sell .uk?

Three conditions decide whether a registrar can be recommended in United Kingdom rather than merely to the world from it: an interface in an official language, billing in the local currency, and selling the local namespace. All three must hold. 1 of the 20 registrars below meets all three.

RegistrarEnglish interfaceBills in GBPSells .ukRecommendable here
OVHcloudnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Yes

Bills in GBP. ".CO.UK £4.50 EX. VAT Renew £8.99 ex. VAT"

source read 2026-09-29

Yes

Sells .uk, and we hold a sourced price for it.

source read 2026-09-28

Yes
Cloudflare Registrar
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-20

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Sells .uk. We hold no price for it yet.

Not yetone condition unassessed
Porkbun
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-20

No

Bills in USD only. "All prices are in USD" is a positive statement that no other billing currency is offered, so this is a recorded 'no' on every non-USD currency rather than an absence.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Sells .uk, and we hold a sourced price for it.

source read 2026-09-28

Nofails one condition
Namecheap
Not yet assessed

Not yet assessed: no storefront of this registrar has been read for its interface language.

Not yet assessed

Not yet assessed: no storefront of this registrar has been read for its billing currency.

Yes

Sells .uk. We hold no price for it yet.

Not yet2 conditions unassessed
Spaceship
Not yet assessed

Not yet assessed: no storefront of this registrar has been read for its interface language.

Not yet assessed

Not yet assessed: no storefront of this registrar has been read for its billing currency.

Yes

Sells .uk, and we hold a sourced price for it.

source read 2026-09-02

Not yet2 conditions unassessed
Dynadot
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-20

Not yet assessed

Offers GBP in a currency selector, but whether the card is charged in GBP or in USD after a conversion is not established. Nine currencies in the selector, which is more than any other registrar tracked here. Whether the card is charged in the selected currency or in USD after a conversion is NOT established: https://www.dynadot.com/community/help/question/change-currency was read on the same date and says nothing about how charges are made or about an exchange rate. Until that is established these do not pass the currency condition, because the condition exists to protect a buyer from a conversion fee and a display-only currency does not.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Sells .uk. We hold no price for it yet.

Not yetone condition unassessed
NameSilo
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
Hover
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Bills in USD only. "All pricing is per year and in USD." is a positive statement that no other billing currency is offered, as Porkbun's is; recorded as a 'no' on every non-USD currency.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails 2 conditions
Squarespace Domains
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
GoDaddy
Not yet assessed

Not yet assessed: no storefront of this registrar has been read for its interface language.

Not yet assessed

Not yet assessed: no storefront of this registrar has been read for its billing currency.

Yes

Sells .uk. We hold no price for it yet.

Not yet2 conditions unassessed
AWS Route 53not tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
Com Laudenot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
Gandinot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Bills in GBP. .co.uk "For 1 years: £5.99", renewal "From £19.18"; "Prices for United Kingdom, Taxes included, in £ (GBP)"

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
Hostingernot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-20

Not yet assessed

Read billing in EUR and PKR and BRL and ARS and COP and TRY and INR and UAH and PLN and CZK and IDR and PHP and SEK and DKK; GBP has not been established either way.

source read 2026-09-20

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
IONOSnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-20

Yes

Bills in GBP. .co.uk "Save 90% £10 £1 /year for 1 year excl. VAT"

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
MarkMonitornot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
Name.comnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

Offers GBP in a currency selector, but whether the card is charged in GBP or in USD after a conversion is not established. Thirteen currencies in the selector (AU$, R$, CA$, ¥, €, £, ₹, MX$, ₱, ﷼, ฿, ₺, USD $). Whether the card is charged in the selected currency is not established by the page, so none passes the currency condition.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
Shopify Domainsnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
Wix Domainsnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition
WordPress.comnot tested by us
Yes

Operates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom.

source read 2026-09-29

Not yet assessed

No storefront of this registrar has been read where the billing currency could be established.

source read 2026-09-29

No

Not among the registrars recorded as selling .uk.

Nofails one condition

A dash is ignorance, not a failing grade: it means we have not established that condition either way. Several registrars render their language and currency switchers in JavaScript, which the read behind this table cannot see, so we record nothing rather than a false “no”. A currency that appears only in a display selector does not count as billing in that currency, because a converted price charged in dollars is exactly the case this condition exists to catch.

Where to buy a .co.uk: Nominet-accredited registrars, read from their own storefronts

Nominet's full registrar list (2,563 names over 2,777 tags) was read on 2026-09-29 at registrars.nominet.uk, where the old nominet.uk address now redirects, and 12 storefronts were opened: ten UK retail brands from that list plus the OVHcloud and Gandi UK pages. .co.uk is the namespace ranked because every store read prices it, while several price .uk only beside it. GoDaddy answered 403, and 123 Reg, Easyspace, UK2 and names.co.uk printed no comparable standing .co.uk price with its VAT treatment. Most UK pages state prices excluding 20% VAT and lead with a cut-price first year.

Ordered by the standing .co.uk price each registrar's own page printed on 2026-09-29: the renewal where the page states one, else the regular price, VAT included (added at 20% where the page states prices excluding it). Price only: this site has not tested their support, uptime or transfers, and none of them carries a score.
#Registrar.co.uk standing price, incl. VATFirst yearRenewalsource
1KrystalEnglish storefront, bills in GBP£9.59computed: £7.99 ex. VAT + 20%same as standing£7.99 ex. VAT, statedsource
2OVHcloudEnglish storefront, bills in GBP£10.79computed: £8.99 ex. VAT + 20%£4.50 promotion, ex. VAT£8.99 ex. VAT, statedsource
3IONOSEnglish storefront, bills in GBP£12.00computed: £10.00 ex. VAT + 20%£1.00 promotion, ex. VATnot stated on its pagesource
4Heart InternetEnglish storefront, bills in GBP£14.39computed: £11.99 ex. VAT + 20%£5.99 promotion, ex. VAT£11.99 ex. VAT, statedsource
5Fasthosts Internet LtdEnglish storefront, bills in GBP£15.40computed: £12.83 ex. VAT + 20%£1.00 promotion, ex. VAT£12.83 ex. VAT, statedsource
6LCNEnglish storefront, bills in GBP£17.99computed: £14.99 ex. VAT + 20%£0.00 promotion, ex. VATnot stated on its pagesource
7GandiEnglish storefront, bills in GBP£19.18as printed, Prices for United Kingdom, Taxes included, in £ (GBP)£5.99 promotion£19.18, statedsource

Ordered by the standing .co.uk price each registrar's own page printed on 2026-09-29: the renewal where the page states one, else the regular price, VAT included (added at 20% where the page states prices excluding it). Price only: this site has not tested their support, uptime or transfers, and none of them carries a score.

Read, not ranked

A local-language storefront, but no .co.uk price with its VAT treatment on the page read.

  • 123-Reg Limited t/a 123-regThe page prints a first-year offer of £3.99/yr without naming the extension in its text and prints no regular or renewal .co.uk price.
  • names.co.ukThe .co.uk row prints Was £13.99 and FREE, but the page only offers a "Show prices inclusive of 20% VAT" toggle and does not state whether £13.99 includes VAT.
  • EasyspaceThe page read prices .uk (£8.15/pa ex VAT), not .co.uk; the .co.uk page address tried was not found.
  • UK2No .co.uk figure on the page read; the .co.uk page address tried was not found.

Not read on 2026-09-29: GoDaddy (HTTP 403 "Access Denied" on 2026-09-29. Nothing read.). Unread is a fact about our read, not a finding about the registrar.

Best options in United Kingdom

RegistrarScoreWhy it qualifies here
not tested by usOperates a English-language storefront, which is an official language of United Kingdom. Bills in GBP. ".CO.UK £4.50 EX. VAT Renew £8.99 ex. VAT" Sells .uk, and we hold a sourced price for it.

Ordered by our overall score where a registrar carries one. A registrar we have not tested can meet all three local conditions and is listed for it, without a score and never above a scored one.

Global option for buying a .com from United Kingdom

RegistrarDoes not meetWhy it is still worth naming
does not bill in GBPVerified .com renewal of $11.08. Not the cheapest .com we verify: Spaceship renews at $10.18, 9% less. Porkbun is the pick here for catalogue breadth, not for price. WHOIS privacy: free, included by default.

Buying a gTLD through an English-language registrar that bills in dollars is a real and common choice, so it is named with the trade stated rather than dropped. It is not a recommendation in United Kingdom: the conditions it misses are in the column above.

Business use, globally
Namecheap

Support channels: 24/7 live chat, ticket support, knowledge base.

Developers, globally
Cloudflare Registrar

Industry-leading anycast DNS with deep developer tooling. Public API documented.

These two are the site’s global picks and are the same on every country page, which is why they are labelled globally and sit outside the table above. Nothing about a registrar’s API or its support channels changes at a border; what does change is language, billing currency and whether it can sell the local namespace, and that is what the eligibility table measures.

Local registry and rules

Registry operator: Nominet UK (www.nominet.uk)
Policy authority: Nominet UK (self-regulating, not-for-profit)
Local presence: No: anyone worldwide can register .uk and .co.uk domains, but registrants must supply accurate contact details.
DNSSEC: Signed at the root: Supported and widely deployed
IDN: Supported
.uk second-level domains were opened in 2014; .co.uk remains the most common form. Registrants get a 12-month phasing window when restoring expired names.

ccTLD breakdown

.uk

Last checked 2026-05-29

Purpose: Top-level UK domain, opened to direct second-level registration in 2014.

Eligibility: No nexus requirement: registrants worldwide may register .uk. Nominet validates contact details and may suspend domains with provably false data.

Verified pricing (USD)
RegistrarFirst yearRenewalTransferChecked
$5.42$5.42$5.422026-09-02
$4.32$5.66free2026-09-28
$6.49$9.49free2026-09-28

Pricing fetched from each registrar's own pricing page on the date shown. Local registrars may bill in GBP and add VAT/GST/sales tax on top.

Holders of a matching .co.uk had a five-year right-of-first-refusal on the equivalent .uk; that reservation ended in June 2019.

.co.uk

Last checked 2026-05-29

Purpose: Commercial second-level UK domain: the most widely held UK form.

Eligibility: No nexus requirement; identical Nominet WHOIS-accuracy rules apply.

Verified pricing (USD)
RegistrarFirst yearRenewalTransferChecked
$4.32$5.66free2026-09-28
$8.49$9.49free2026-09-28
$6.98$9.98free2026-08-19
$10.99$10.99$10.992026-09-28

Pricing fetched from each registrar's own pricing page on the date shown. Local registrars may bill in GBP and add VAT/GST/sales tax on top.

Renewal pricing tracks .uk closely at most registrars. Expired domains enter a 30-day grace, then a 90-day suspension, before the name is released.

Namespace map

What you can register under .uk

The Public Suffix List records 10 registrable namespaces under .uk.

Registrable namespaces under .uk from the Public Suffix List, with which of the registrars this site tracks sell each one and the cheapest renewal price we have verified.
NamespaceTracked registrars that sell itCheapest verified renewal
.ac.ukNone we trackNot verified
.co.ukHover, Namecheap, NameSilo, Porkbun$5.66 (verified price)
.gov.ukNone we trackNot verified
.ltd.ukNone we trackNot verified
.me.ukPorkbunNot verified
.net.ukNone we trackNot verified
.nhs.ukNone we trackNot verified
.org.ukPorkbunNot verified
.plc.ukNone we trackNot verified
.police.ukNone we trackNot verified

Operator: Nominet UK · .uk signed in the root zone (2026-09-28)

A namespace no tracked registrar sells is not a namespace you cannot register: most country-code registries delegate to their own accredited registrars, listed above where we have the registry's list. It is also not a namespace anyone may register - registries reserve some for schools, government, health services or licensed providers, and this table states eligibility only where we read it from the registry itself.

Reserved, nothing to register

The IANA root database records this delegation as reserved. It is delegated in the root zone but carries no open registration, so nothing here is registrable at any level.

  • .gbReserved Domain - IANAnot signed in the root zone

DNSSEC 2026-09-28

Namespace existence: publicsuffix.org/list/public_suffix_list.dat, 2026-08-19.

.com pricing in USD

Verified and sample pricing per registrar for this TLD, with first-year, renewal, ten-year cost and the date each figure was checked
RegistrarFirst-yearRenewal10-year costWHOIS privacyLast checked
(verified price)
Spaceship logoSpaceship
$9.08$10.18$100.70Free2026-09-02
(verified price)
Dynadot logoDynadot
$10.88$10.88$108.80Free2026-09-28
(verified price)
Porkbun logoPorkbun
$11.08$11.08$110.80Free2026-09-28
(verified price)
OVHcloud logoOVHcloud
$9.20$14.69$141.41Available; contact data red…2026-09-28
(verified price)
Amazon Route 53
$16.00$16.00$160.00Free, with exceptions2026-09-29
(verified price)
NameSilo
$17.29$17.29$172.90Free2026-09-28
(verified price)
Namecheap logoNamecheap
$11.28$18.48$177.60Free, with exceptions2026-08-19
(verified price)
Hover logoHover
$18.99$18.99$189.90Free, with exceptions2026-09-28
(verified price)
Name.com
$12.99$19.99$192.90Available (Whois Privacy) o…2026-09-28
(verified price)
IONOS logoIONOS
$1.00$20.00$181.00Available; contact data red…2026-09-29
(verified price)
Gandi logoGandi
$11.00$38.38$356.42Free, with exceptions2026-09-28

Compared across the 11 registrars whose .com price we have read ourselves.

Most global registrars price domains in USD; local registrars often invoice in GBP.

Can a registrar we track handle United Kingdom?

.uk is sold by 3 of the registrars whose prices we verify, renewing from $5.42: less than the cheapest verified .com at $10.18.

At $5.42 a year, .uk is the 8th cheapest of the 295 extensions we hold verified prices for: $4.76 less than the cheapest verified .com. Registering locally costs less here than registering the default.

United Kingdom ccTLDs and whether a registrar we verify sells each one
ccTLDSellers we verifyCheapest verified renewalvs cheapest .com
.uk3 (+4 listed, price not verified)$5.42-$4.76
.co.uk4 (+4 listed, price not verified)$5.66-$4.52

Renewals are all-in and per year, at the cheapest registrar we verify for that extension, checked 2026-09-29. The .com reference is the cheapest verified .com renewal ($10.18). "Listed" counts registrars our country notes record as selling the extension without a price we have read ourselves.

What this page does not tell you: how the registrars based in the United Kingdom compare. We list 2563 of them by name only, no prices, no scores, no hands-on testing, so any claim here that a local registrar is cheaper, better supported or easier to pay would be invention. Where local billing in Pound Sterling (GBP), local-language support, or a registry rule requires a local registrar, that is a reason to use one, and comparing them is work we have not done.

FAQ

What is the best domain registrar in United Kingdom?
OVHcloud is the one registrar this site tracks that meets all three local conditions in the United Kingdom: a storefront in an official language, billing in GBP, and .co.uk for sale. Of the 12 local storefronts read on 2026-09-29, Krystal prints the lowest standing .co.uk price: £9.59 incl. VAT, computed from £7.99 ex. VAT, then OVHcloud at £10.79 incl. VAT, computed from £8.99 ex. VAT; £4.50 first year. Nominet accredits 2,563 registrars to sell .co.uk; none of them is tested or scored here. Global registrars that sell .co.uk in US dollars are the global option for a buyer in the United Kingdom, not a recommendation in it.
Do I need a local presence to register a .uk domain?
No: anyone worldwide can register .uk and .co.uk domains, but registrants must supply accurate contact details.
Which global registrars sell .uk?
Cloudflare Registrar, Porkbun, Namecheap, GoDaddy, Spaceship, Dynadot, OVHcloud. Holders of a matching .co.uk had a five-year right-of-first-refusal on the equivalent .uk; that reservation ended in June 2019.
Which currency are domains billed in for users in United Kingdom?
Most global registrars bill in USD regardless of buyer location. Local registrars typically invoice in Pound Sterling (GBP). Global registrars (Porkbun, Cloudflare, Namecheap, Spaceship, Dynadot) bill in USD and pass the FX charge to the cardholder. 123-Reg, Fasthosts, and Heart Internet invoice in GBP with VAT shown on the receipt. GoDaddy supports GBP billing if you set the locale at checkout.
What payment methods work in United Kingdom?
Global registrars (Porkbun, Cloudflare, Namecheap, Spaceship, Dynadot) bill in USD and pass the FX charge to the cardholder. 123-Reg, Fasthosts, and Heart Internet invoice in GBP with VAT shown on the receipt. GoDaddy supports GBP billing if you set the locale at checkout.

Sources and changelog