Kenya uses .ke, .co.ke, open to registrants worldwide. Below: who operates each namespace, what its rules actually constrain, the accredited local registrars, and how global registrars compare on price where we hold a sourced figure.
Of the 8 local storefronts read on 2026-09-29, HostAfrica prints the lowest standing .co.ke price: KES 346.84 incl. VAT, computed from KES 299.00 ex. VAT, then HostPinnacle at KES 406.00 incl. VAT, computed from KES 350.00 ex. VAT. KeNIC accredits 126 registrars to sell .co.ke; none of them is tested or scored here. Global registrars that sell .co.ke in US dollars are the global option for a buyer in Kenya, not a recommendation in it.
Registrars accredited by Kenya Network Information Centre (KeNIC)
These 126 companies are accredited by the Kenya registry to sell .ke, .co.ke. Every figure below is a fact the registry publishes, read from its accredited-registrar list on 2026-09-29.
Kenya Network Information Centre (KeNIC) publishes 126 registrars under contract for .ke, .co.ke. Of those, it lists 0 as offering DNSSEC.
We do not reproduce all 126 names here. Any order we printed them in would imply a ranking, and we have tested none of them. The registry's own list is the authority: Kenya Network Information Centre (KeNIC) registrar list, read 2026-09-29.
We have not tested any of these registrars, so nothing here carries a price, a score or a ranking. Comparing them on price and service is work we have not done, and saying which is better would be invention.
Which registrars have a Swahili / English site, bill in KES and sell .ke?
Three conditions decide whether a registrar can be recommended in Kenya rather than merely to the world from it: an interface in an official language, billing in the local currency, and selling the local namespace. All three must hold. No registrar we track currently meets all three here.
Bills in USD only. "All prices are in USD" is a positive statement that no other billing currency is offered, so this is a recorded 'no' on every non-USD currency rather than an absence.
Bills in USD only. "All pricing is per year and in USD." is a positive statement that no other billing currency is offered, as Porkbun's is; recorded as a 'no' on every non-USD currency.
Read billing in EUR and PKR and BRL and ARS and COP and TRY and INR and UAH and PLN and CZK and IDR and PHP and SEK and DKK; KES has not been established either way.
No registrar tracked here is recorded as selling .co.ke.
Nofails one condition
A dash is ignorance, not a failing grade: it means we have not established that condition either way. Several registrars render their language and currency switchers in JavaScript, which the read behind this table cannot see, so we record nothing rather than a false “no”. A currency that appears only in a display selector does not count as billing in that currency, because a converted price charged in dollars is exactly the case this condition exists to catch.
Where to buy a .co.ke: KeNIC-accredited registrars, read from their own storefronts
KeNIC's list of licensed registrars (126 names, read in full after its lazy loading finished) was read on 2026-09-29, and eight Kenyan storefronts from it were opened and read again for .co.ke, the namespace Kenyan stores price. Whogohost returned 502 and Host Pro a bot wall, and Safaricom printed no .co.ke figure. Truehost and hosting.com print .co.ke in shillings without VAT wording, so HostPinnacle and HostAfrica, which state prices excluding 16% VAT, are ranked.
Ordered by the standing .co.ke price each registrar's own page printed on 2026-09-29: the renewal where the page states one, else the regular price, VAT included (added at 16% where the page states prices excluding it). Price only: this site has not tested their support, uptime or transfers, and none of them carries a score.
Ordered by the standing .co.ke price each registrar's own page printed on 2026-09-29: the renewal where the page states one, else the regular price, VAT included (added at 16% where the page states prices excluding it). Price only: this site has not tested their support, uptime or transfers, and none of them carries a score.
Read, not ranked
A local-language storefront, but no .co.ke price with its VAT treatment on the page read.
TTruehostThe page prints .co.ke at 999.00 KES with a 299.00 KES first year but states no VAT treatment.
KKenya Web Hosting ExpertsThe figures under the domain search are not tied to an extension in the page text, and no VAT treatment is stated.
Not read on 2026-09-29: Whogohost (HTTP 502 on every read on 2026-09-29. Nothing read.); Host Pro (HTTP 403 Cloudflare "Just a moment..." challenge on 2026-09-29. Nothing read.). Unread is a fact about our read, not a finding about the registrar.
Best options in Kenya
No registrar we track meets all three local conditions in Kenya.
No registrar we track is recorded as selling .ke at all, so the namespace condition fails before language or currency is reached.
For .ke itself, the registry’s own accredited registrars are the route, and they are listed on this page above. We have not tested them, so we name them rather than rank them.
Verified .com renewal of $11.08. Not the cheapest .com we verify: Spaceship renews at $10.18, 9% less. Porkbun is the pick here for catalogue breadth, not for price. WHOIS privacy: free, included by default.
Buying a gTLD through an English-language registrar that bills in dollars is a real and common choice, so it is named with the trade stated rather than dropped. It is not a recommendation in Kenya: the conditions it misses are in the column above.
Business use, globally
Namecheap
Support channels: 24/7 live chat, ticket support, knowledge base.
Developers, globally
Cloudflare Registrar
Industry-leading anycast DNS with deep developer tooling. Public API documented.
These two are the site’s global picks and are the same on every country page, which is why they are labelled globally and sit outside the table above. Nothing about a registrar’s API or its support channels changes at a border; what does change is language, billing currency and whether it can sell the local namespace, and that is what the eligibility table measures.
Policy authority: Kenya Network Information Center (KeNIC)
Local presence: The KeNIC material we reviewed does not state a nationality restriction for the open second levels. Names can be registered only through KeNIC-accredited registrars; confirm your case with an accredited registrar.
DNSSEC: Signed at the root
IDN: No separate IDN ccTLD is delegated for Kenya.
KeNIC's second levels are .co.ke, .or.ke, .ne.ke, .go.ke, .me.ke, .mobi.ke, .info.ke, .sc.ke and .ac.ke. Registration and renewal run in one-year steps to a five-year maximum per transaction, shorter than the ten years most gTLDs allow.
Purpose: Commercial second level, the default Kenyan business identity.
Eligibility: Registered only through KeNIC-accredited registrars. The KeNIC material we reviewed does not state a nationality restriction for the open second levels; confirm with an accredited registrar for your case.
Tracked registrars that sell .co.ke
None of the registrars we track sell .co.ke at retail: see the local registrar list below.
Registration and renewal have a one-year minimum and a five-year maximum in a single transaction. Registrant contact data is collected to protect the owner's interest and is not published openly.
.ke
Last checked 2026-08-19
Purpose: Kenya's country code, with the working namespace organised under second levels.
Eligibility: Delegated through the same accredited-registrar channel as .co.ke.
Tracked registrars that sell .ke
None of the registrars we track sell .ke at retail: see the local registrar list below.
KeNIC's second levels are .co.ke, .or.ke, .ne.ke, .go.ke, .me.ke, .mobi.ke, .info.ke, .sc.ke and .ac.ke. KeNIC also runs registration desks at Huduma Centres.
Namespace map
What you can register under .ke
The Public Suffix List records 9 registrable namespaces under .ke.
Registrable namespaces under .ke from the Public Suffix List, with which of the registrars this site tracks sell each one and the cheapest renewal price we have verified.
Namespace
.ac.ke
.co.ke
.go.ke
.info.ke
.me.ke
.mobi.ke
.ne.ke
.or.ke
.sc.ke
Operator: Kenya Network Information Center (KeNIC) · .ke signed in the root zone (2026-09-28)
Verified and sample pricing per registrar for this TLD, with first-year, renewal, ten-year cost and the date each figure was checked
Registrar
First-year
Renewal
10-year cost
WHOIS privacy
Last checked
(verified price)
Spaceship
$9.08
$10.18
$100.70
Free
2026-09-02
(verified price)
Dynadot
$10.88
$10.88
$108.80
Free
2026-09-28
(verified price)
Porkbun
$11.08
$11.08
$110.80
Free
2026-09-28
(verified price)
OVHcloud
$9.20
$14.69
$141.41
Available; contact data red…
2026-09-28
(verified price)
AAmazon Route 53
$16.00
$16.00
$160.00
Free, with exceptions
2026-09-29
(verified price)
NNameSilo
$17.29
$17.29
$172.90
Free
2026-09-28
(verified price)
Namecheap
$11.28
$18.48
$177.60
Free, with exceptions
2026-08-19
(verified price)
Hover
$18.99
$18.99
$189.90
Free, with exceptions
2026-09-28
(verified price)
NName.com
$12.99
$19.99
$192.90
Available (Whois Privacy) o…
2026-09-28
(verified price)
IONOS
$1.00
$20.00
$181.00
Available; contact data red…
2026-09-29
(verified price)
Gandi
$11.00
$38.38
$356.42
Free, with exceptions
2026-09-28
Compared across the 11 registrars whose .com price we have read ourselves.
Most global registrars price domains in USD; local registrars often invoice in KES.
Can a registrar we track handle Kenya?
No registrar whose prices we verify sells any of the ccTLDs on this page, so a local or specialist registrar is the only route to them. A global registrar can still hold the .com, which renews from $10.18 at the cheapest seller we verify: many owners here run both.
Kenya ccTLDs and whether a registrar we verify sells each one
ccTLD
Sellers we verify
Cheapest verified renewal
vs cheapest .com
.co.ke
0
Local registrar only
-No value recorded
.ke
0
Local registrar only
-No value recorded
Renewals are all-in and per year, at the cheapest registrar we verify for that extension, checked 2026-09-29. The .com reference is the cheapest verified .com renewal ($10.18). "Listed" counts registrars our country notes record as selling the extension without a price we have read ourselves.
What this page does not tell you: how the registrars based in Kenya compare. We list 126 of them by name only, no prices, no scores, no hands-on testing, so any claim here that a local registrar is cheaper, better supported or easier to pay would be invention. Where local billing in Kenyan Shilling (KES), local-language support, or a registry rule requires a local registrar, that is a reason to use one, and comparing them is work we have not done.
FAQ
What is the best domain registrar in Kenya?+
Of the 8 local storefronts read on 2026-09-29, HostAfrica prints the lowest standing .co.ke price: KES 346.84 incl. VAT, computed from KES 299.00 ex. VAT, then HostPinnacle at KES 406.00 incl. VAT, computed from KES 350.00 ex. VAT. KeNIC accredits 126 registrars to sell .co.ke; none of them is tested or scored here. Global registrars that sell .co.ke in US dollars are the global option for a buyer in Kenya, not a recommendation in it.
Do I need a local presence to register a .ke domain?+
The KeNIC material we reviewed does not state a nationality restriction for the open second levels. Names can be registered only through KeNIC-accredited registrars; confirm your case with an accredited registrar.
Which global registrars sell .ke?+
None of the registrars we track sell .co.ke at retail. Registration and renewal have a one-year minimum and a five-year maximum in a single transaction. Registrant contact data is collected to protect the owner's interest and is not published openly.
Which currency are domains billed in for users in Kenya?+
Most global registrars bill in USD regardless of buyer location. Local registrars typically invoice in Kenyan Shilling (KES). KeNIC-accredited registrars invoice in shillings and M-Pesa is the dominant payment rail, which is the practical reason Kenyan buyers use local providers. Global registrars bill in USD by card for gTLDs.
What payment methods work in Kenya?+
KeNIC-accredited registrars invoice in shillings and M-Pesa is the dominant payment rail, which is the practical reason Kenyan buyers use local providers. Global registrars bill in USD by card for gTLDs.